RSS

Roasted Okra!

29 Jul

I am ashamed to admit that our next box comes tomorrow and the okra that I was so thrilled to receive 13 days ago was still in our fridge tonight. D. Dishwasher has been working ridiculously long at work, so I’ve been cooking for myself and never remembered to pull out the vegetables down in the drawer….

Luckily they had not gone bad! Well, 3 or 4 of the little guys had, but out of a pound that is not much. So I looked up a recipe that would be similar to the grilled okra that I loved on the 4th of July, but wouldn’t require a grill.

Just okra, oil, salt and pepper!

Just okra, oil, salt and pepper!

If you are interested in trying it out, just chop okra, dry it, add oil and seasonings, then cook at 450º for 25 minutes!

Recipe I used is from here and a slightly different take on it is here.

If you’re curious, the brown ‘sauce’ on the rice and chicken is Madras Lentils. It reminds me of chili and is one of my favorites to use in a super-quick dinner.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 29, 2014 in Using ingredients

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
