RSS

Box 3 – Week of June 30

01 Jul

I made better use of this week’s box, I’ll give the report on that later. But the new one has just arrived, and I am excited!!! There are only two banana peppers this time, and I am sure I can make use of them. Heck, I somehow made use of the last batch.

CSA Box 3 contents

More than just green this time!

This week we have:

Basil, Onions, Watermelon

Cucumbers, Peppers (Banana, Serrano, Bell), Tomatoes

Okra, Eggplant, Squash

I am especially excited about the okra, I’ve really come to like it since moving here. I also learned how to store basil AFTER the last bunch went bad, so hopefully I can use it this time.

Does anyone have tasty, unusual uses for cucumber or squash?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2014 in Box contents

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Box 3 – Week of June 30

  1. Mom

    July 2, 2014 at 4:42 am

    cucumber sliced lengthwise, seeds scooped out, use to hold sandwich filling. I found that you need to do the strip peel or it is too hard to bite thru. You know how people always peel cukes leaving on strips so they look striped? I didn’t the first time, big mistake. I loved it with tuna ~ and celery, onion etc Also cutting it in slices and stacking with tuna salad and tomato slices was good. Eggplant is amazing on pizza. JE and I made potlajon sp? eggplant stuffed with tomato, garlic, onion, ground meat then baked until soft and all the flavors are blended. We had pizza every Friday night and loaded it with leftovers. The eggplant leftovers were the best pizza EVER. It is a Turkish recipe in my experience, Kubra made it ~ patlıcan is the turkish spelling ~ googled it ;-} The c should have a little squiggle under it. We lived on Cigli AFB and it was pronounced Chili. The a’s sound like ah. Squash is so good sauteed with garlic, onion and sometimes tomatoes that I would have to look up what else people do to it! Of course I bake winter squash. If you have zucchini you should try the rice patties that I remember sending you the recipe for when you asked about ideas for rice ;-}
    Obviously too tired to be coherent, love you!!! Wish people did baskets here xoxoxox

     
  2. Mom

    July 2, 2014 at 4:45 am

    Oh, I LOVE tomato basil pie. It is amazing. Jennie Post was the first person to feed it to me, I improved on her recipe, no place for modesty, and then LOST the recipe. I modified it to the point she didn’t recognize it ;-Þ You have to put flour in it due to high liquid content of tomatoes and I think a more biscuit type crust holds up best. xoxoxox

     

Leave a Reply

 
