RSS
Image

Bibimbap! (Korean rice bowl)

16 Jun

Bibimbap! (Korean rice bowl)

I had eaten bibimbap only a few times at Korean restaurants when I decided that I should make it at home. I looked on the internet and found a LOT of different ways to do it! So I asked a Korean friend, and she said that people put pretty much whatever they have around in it, that it’s the kind of dish a girl stereotypically eats if she’s been dumped or something. Although she did add that there is a fancier kind, too.

Since then I’ve had it in more restaurants and made it at home plenty of times. You make some rice, cook up ground beef with salt and pepper, and then cook up vegetables to balance it out. I used a little olive oil and sesame oil. Then once it’s all in the bowl you stir it all up. (if you’re not taking a picture, who cares how it looks!)

This time I took some small liberties by adding the carrot and cabbage, but they were tasty. The real key, in my book, is the egg over easy and the gochujang sauce (or Korean pepper paste) since they give it a very distinctive texture and flavor.

Large bowl of mixed bibimbap

Designated Dishwasher’s big bowl, all mixed up and ready to eat.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 16, 2014 in Using ingredients

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
