RSS
Image

Potato Leek Frittata

11 Jun

I have been exploring other CSA blogs and there is so much variety! Originally I was trying to see ideas of what people do, but it reminded me what a difference there is in regions as well. I mean, I grew up with blackberries growing wild, picking plums and apples from neighborhood trees, and waiting impatiently for rhubarb to ripen. But here the blackberries are sad and flavorless (even off the bush!) and I’m more likely to see pomegranates than plums. Pecans are a good benefit, though.

When I saw the leeks in our box, my first thought was a quiche. Then I was thinking about the time to make the crust (I haven’t found a store bought one I like) and Designated Dishwasher suggested a frittata instead. He learns so well! I based mine on the recipes here and here, using the same size pan and the stove top-to-oven idea, but put in what we had on hand: leeks, shredded potatoes and sweet potatoes (waaay to many from latkes the other day), radishes, and garlic. It worked well!

Raw, in my lovely enameled cast iron pan

Raw, in my lovely enameled cast iron pan

 

Finished, but the bottom stuck!

Finished, but the bottom stuck!

 

The crispy, tasty bits that liked the pan better than the rest of the frittata

The crispy, tasty bits that liked the pan better than the rest of the frittata

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 11, 2014 in Using ingredients

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
